HybridZ

Rattle can paint job

Guest jdllaugh

Guest jdllaugh

Okay, I know this is sacrilege for you paint guys, but paint is one of the last things on the agenda for my 240z project. malebitchslap.gif

The first step is repairing the rust. Then comes motor installation, getting the car running, brakes, suspension, etc., etc. Paint last.

But, after I repair the minor exterior rust I end up with a multi-color car. My idea is to spray the entire car with Rustoleum red or similar spray paint for like $20-$30 bucks. I just want to make the car reasonably presentable for a year or so, then have the car painted by a professional. I have zero painting experience.

Questions: :confused:

-- Are there any major drawbacks to this idea.

-- Is there any particular brand that would be better or worse? Rustoleum, Krylon, Hammerite?

-- Will it give me a reasonably presentable paint job?

I'm just now taking the car apart, so this is down the road a ways. I'm open to all suggestions. 2thumbs.gif

A rattle can paint job will look very patchy, not worth the money for the cans. Leave it primer but add a sealer to keep it waterproof. Or you could spend an extra $100 or so on top of what the rattle cans cost and get a Maaco paint job.

Guest Anonymous

You would be surprised how many cans of spray paint you will need to do an adequate job paint with spray cans. I painted my Jeep CJ-5 exterior with spray cans, Camo colors. Mind you I only did the exterior and no top. I used 16 cans. This was at $5.00 a can. Okay so 80 bucks is cheap. I would guess you may need twice that amount. Keep in mind that if you do go this route, make sure you buy all of the paint up front( over-buy and return what you don't use), buy the same lot number or you will have a real problem. The colors can be off by a few shades between lots.