HybridZ

Turbo EFI wiring problems!!

Errr...maybe I need to learn to read first. I thought I read you were just putting the computer in with the n/a harness...doh!

When I put mine into my 1st gen, I studied the heck out of the two cars wiring diagrams, and made the appropriate connections. As I recall, I wired the fuel pump signal from the ECU directly to the relay, which was already wired into the rest of the car. I used the trubo EFI relay, and simply wired the old power from the fusible link to it. You may need the turbo coil and trigger -- I don't know if the n/a coil has the external transistor trigger, and you do need that. Good luck, and sorry I jumped the gun.

OK, I dug out my old photocopy of the 280ZX turbo wiring diagram. The transistor emitter is grounded throught the chassis, so you don't have to sweat that one. The positive to the coil comes from the ignition switch on a black wire with a white stripe. This same wire powers the relay coil for the EFI relay. The negative side of the coil connects directly to the transistor collector with a short blue wire. The trigger for the whole mess goes through a yellow wire with a white stripe through an 8 pin connector directly to pin 5 on the ECU. Hope this helps.

If the black/white wire hooks to the - side of the coil, what hooks to the other side of the transistor. On the transistor it has the yellow trigger hooked to one side. What color wire is the "fuel pump signal"? And did you use any of the wires from the turbo harness that was in that five wire connector, that's over near the battery?

Thanks

Jason

Maybe together we can beat this thing.

The black/white connects to the + of the coil (positive). The - of the coil connects to the transistor, the other side of the transistor connects to the chassis (ground). I'm at work without the diagram, so I'll get you the color of the fuel pump wire tonight.

Not sure about your 5 wire connector near the battery...does it plug into the EFI relay?