HybridZ

Wiring from scratch.

jkgts1

Okay, i've been stuck on this part of my project for a little while and have just been avoiding it. I am not an electrician so my knowledge is limited. So i have a 74 260z with a 2jzgte in it. I have a new engine harness that I had someone make for me. I purchased a pre made wiring harness with fuse block for the body. I kind of just need to know the basics which I really cannot seem to find.

1) I will run heavy gauge wire from the battery straight to the starter, correct?

2) also run a wire from the battery to a fuseable link or maxi fuse then to the aftermarket fuse block, correct? So, this will power my fuse block. Now the majority of other things, lights, fuel pump, gauges, etc will get power from the fuse block, correct?

3) I understand that relays are switchs and that they use low current to power larger current items. Example. When wiring up the fuel pump, im sticking a relay between the fuse block and fuel pump? So, I am powerig fuel pump with the relay and the power to the relay comes from the fuse block?

Sorry if all these seem simple, but I want to be sure I do it correctly. Last thing I want is for the car to catch on fire.

1. Yes you want heavy gauge wire between the battery and starter.  Generally these are something around 4 or 2 gauge.  Only downside to bigger is the additional weight.  

2. I would stick with what was done from the factory as far as # of fuses and ratings.  Unless you are upgrading something such as the fuel pump you mention in question 3.  Upgrade the fusible links to fuses and the fuse block to modern fuses, but keep them wired the same.  

3. Yes, basically if the original wiring isn't suitable to power your fuel pump then you run a new positive and negative to the fuel pump directly from the battery with a fuse and a relay in line.  Then you wire the original fuel pump wiring to the relay.  Original wires energize the relay, which will switch positions and energize the fuel pump.