HybridZ

Single-plane manifold Pro's & Con's

I think I understand some of the advantages of single-plane intake manifolds - improved power and efficiency at high RPM's, with a moderate improvement at mid-ranges, and a decline at lower speeds. This sounds great for a high-reving engine, such as my 327, especially in a small, light car such as a Z. Although I am partial to high revs, I'm concerned about streetability and economy. I'm not looking for all-out power with a lumpy idle or twitchy behavior around town - something I associate with single-planes, though I have little experience with them. If my goal is a touring machine with some punch if I'm in a hurry, would the single-plane fit the bill, or would I be better off with the more conventional dual-plane? BTW, I'm preparing the motor to use a TBI unit from an '89 Firebird, with all the associated sensors and electronics, with one of the adapter plates available from Holley and others, and a set of ported/polished .202 "Double-hump" heads (#3782461's). Any comments/concerns would be appreciated.

Scott,

If you are going to run injection then a lot of the problems assocatiated with single plane manifolds can be tuned out. You dont have to worry about low air flow not sending the right signal to the carb. The victor jr seem to be a favoured manifold, however i wonder if you can get away with something more like a tunnel ram becuase of the advantages of fuel injection. Any one else know?

Douglas

Guest Anonymous

Hood clearance provided, a tunnel ram could easily be (and has been) used in a multiport system, the one I saw used a sheetmetal upper for the plenum with the throttlebody on the front. Not sure on they're performance, but I'm sure it can't be that bad. icon_smile.gif

Regards,

Lone