HybridZ

Help - Buick Turbo V6 Problem

speeder

Not a Z problem (I wish it was :D ), but-

I have an '87 GN with a newly rebuilt engine that is losing water.( can see it coming out the tailpipe, and if run hard water gets in the oil.)

My question involves troubleshooting this problem -

I have one of those pump type radiator testers with the pressure guage , and have pressurized the cooling system. It holds 17-20 psi indefinitely, hot or cold.

I then bled pressure to about 5psi in the radiator, started the engine, and checked for pressure fluctuations on the tester guage - saw none.

I see no bubbles in the radiator water with the engine running.

I then checked every cylinder with my leakdown tester and found less than 5% on all.

All plugs look the same - a little too clean IMO.

Any of you know something specific to the Buick that can cause this problem? - I have limited experience with non- L6 motors - Or do I have a problem with my test methods? bonk.gif

My first inclination was to just change head and intake gaskets, but thought I'd try for some expert advice before engaging in that PITA - the motor has head studs that make pulling heads not fun in the big Buick body.

Thanks for any help,

Guest Zachb55

well i cant tell you where your water is coming from, but im pretty sure its not from your radiator. its pretty common for water to drip out of your muffler, im not quite sure how it happends but it aint that bad in any case... now to get in your oil, hmm, that seems like it almost certainly has o come from the radiator, does it keep on happening? how did you find out there was water in it?

-Zach

As I read the post I was thinking head gasket or misaligned intake gasket until you said head studs. I am guessing you are using ARP head studs. If this is the case and you already have leaked a lot of water, I hate to say it, but the heads and pan have to come off. Been there, done that.