HybridZ

PC used to modify fuel map

Tony240ZT

Anyone ever heard of someone writing a program on a personal computer, like for a laptop that read/modify fuel maps? I'm a programmer, haven't messed very much with serial ports, or parallel ports, but I think it could be done, if the parellel port and processing was fast enough. Any other programmers here that might be able to help in this idea?

I do know that the ports on the PC use +5V or 0V as on and off signals, a coil igniter could be used to quickly turn that low amperage +5V into a higher amperage +12V.

With the amount of money people spend on stand alone engine management hardware they could afford a pretty good laptop that is much more versitile (mobile multi media to name one nice feature). It would be awesome if all we needed was a wiring harness, a couple sensors, and a commen PC laptop + software to run/tune our cars.

Anyone here think there is a better/faster port like USB that could be a better interface for communication?

The joystick port is capable of reading 4 potentia meters 0-5V, which could be used for reading the head temp, AFM, O2, and air temp analog sensors. It converts the voltage into pulses (using a multi-vibrator :D ) that can be converted into a digital resistance number.

It also has 4 digital inputs and one could be used for the crank trigger input.

The joystick port does not have out put capabilities so a serial port could be used to fire ignition, and injectors.

If something like this were possible then multi coil packs could be used.

Can anyone foresee synchronization problems? It's not like you have to wait for a device on the receiving end of the serial device to accept the signal. The injectors or the coil igniter would simply switch immediately. Keeping the program real time would have to be the key, using multi threading.

Some things to consider..