HybridZ

New guy, Few questions

Hello All,

I'm new to HybridZ. I've been itching to do a Z car V8 conversion for awhile, bought a 260Z the other day as well as picked up a 400 SBC to go into it.

Little bit of background about me,

ASE certified Master Auto Tech with Advance Performance, as well as Master Engine Machinist.

I have a few years of delaership as well as auto manufacturing experience.

Currently working in Iraq as a private military contractor so I can afford my toys at home. :)

Anyway,

I ordered the JTR book and mounting kit. Was hoping it would all be here today but didn't show.

I have a 400 SBC with Sportsman II's, Air Gap, new rotating assembly, etc.. I just need to assemble this week before I head back to Iraq.

I'm kicking around doing a T56 in this car.

I've done the T56 swap "back when it was hard" :)

I searched the archives and it seems alot of the info is somewhat incorrect and/or outdated.

I have previously mounted a LT1 T56 behind a 454 in a 72 Camaro using a lightweight 153 tooth flywheel, Centerforce DF clutch, McLeod Hyd TO, and a Tilton master. Stock Lt1 bellhousing.

No need for the pull-off style clutch...or related expensive flywheels/parts.

I would likely use a Viper or LS1 trans this time as McLeod has scattershields made for this swap now. Should make things easier.

The car I have is a manual car, so I was thinking of using the stock Datsun clutch master (anybody know the diameter?), a McLeod housing, Viper T56 (mechanical speedo), and a McLeod Hyd TO bearing.

Seems to me this would be the easiest way to mount in the Z car, since it already has a hyd clutch setup.

Has anybody used the stock master for any type of T56 swap, slave cyl or hyd TO?

Anybody use a mechanical linkage setup using a McLeod scattershield, or even a mechanical linkag eon an older 4 speed style setup?