HybridZ

single stage vs. 2 stage? (Triple Black question too)

scott19

Ok, I'm at the point where it's time to choose my paint. I was going to go with a 2 stage system, but now I'm wondering if single stage might be a better choice. I'm going with PPG, and I wanted Triple Black, but the local dealer was unfamiliar with the term. After doing some searches online, I was under the understanding that 9300 was the code for Triple Black, which is PPG's Concept single stage line. Is that correct? As far as the dealer knows, it's just black.

What are the advantages to single stage, and how different is it to shoot than a base coat/clear coat? I would think it'd be easier, just a question of adding more coats of the color, with no clearing at the end. I'm looking for "new car" quality, not "show car" quality. I've read that single stage is easier to repair, and can theoretically be "blacker".

Any comments would be greatly appreciated!

I'm not an expert but it sounds like it would be easier to do body work on afterwards.

Think about what you would have to do to do repairs for dents.

sand down the area, then plastic filler, sand, then primer, then paint, and not wash the car for 2 weeks (let it cure completely). with 2 stage it would be alot more steps and I wouldn't think that it would look right afterwards.

Anyways personally I would at least put a basecoat before single stage, just to make it thorogh.

Added befiets for 2 stage is that is stronger than single stage and doesn't chip as much as single, but that is do to layering coats before the previous layer is set (not cured, flash time).

I would use a epoxy primer (2 part primer) maybe 2 coats, then as many coats of single that you want. For most paints the flash time is 15-30 min, just to the point that when you check by touch that the strands of paint strech to about an inche.

You probably know more about paint than me, but I like to remind my self some times:D and some else might learn something.