HybridZ

v8? or bored pistons?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

hey guys. i have a 85 300zx turbo and i was recently thinking of stickin a v8 into it. but then i was thinkin about all the mods i would have to do to the rest of the car like new hood if it doesnt fit, maybe tranny, and drivetrain stuff like that. The OTHER alternative is to get the engine machined and bored out. i could buy a kit and stuff like that and could easliy get some pretty good horse as well. BUT, would that make the block weak? and would i have to do serious mods to the drivtrain if i went with the boreing? also keep in mind i am a student and money is definately a huge factor.

If money is a factor, I'd keep it stock for now and focus on brakes and suspension. Once you open the motor up, no telling where it might lead... New piston and an overbore on the V series Nissan could run you some serious bucks, especially if you raceprep the rods and go through the block. Ringing it properly, going through the heads, adding cams... It could run you into some serious cash. IF money is an issue, just do the simple bolt ons. Besides, going into that motor won't get you any serious HP unless you turbo it... Then again, what do you consider serious HP? To me, and this is just my take so please don't take offense, I wouldn't open a motor up unless I could get at least 300HP and some serious torque for the money spent.

Mike

------------------

http://hometown.aol.com/dat74z/myhomepage/auto.html

"I will not be a spectator in the sport of life!"

mjk

Guest Anonymous

You can do all the tricks in the book and you won't get more than 230 or so horsepower from a non turbo vg30 and keep it reasonably street drivable. 230hp in a 3k+ car is diddly squat for performance.

I'd turbo it - the engineering has already been done for you by nissan and it can make all the power 98% of people would ever want.

------------------

Morgan

http://z31.com/~morgan/s30

http://carfiche.com