HybridZ

Anyone ever run a Tanabe muffler?

ezzzzzzz

I read more posts than I cared to. Exhaust tones are very subjective. I like the deep throaty sound but hate the tooth loosening drones. Most straight piped mufflers are suited only for the young or track.

Without installing acoustic materials in our old Z's they all reverberate like soup cans with tires. As a daily driver, I lean towards compromise between comfort and performance. Most people want that too only it takes a bit of experience to understand it. That is why many of us have installed open exhaust only to be disappointed if not down right frustrated at the end results and swapped it out looking for our ideal sound.

To the point, I had a Tanabe Medallion installed in a 94 Accord. The sound was rich and deep. It had none of the shrill chainsaw rasp typical of most ricer mufflers. The interior noise did increase but the droning was tolerable. I've seen that a few late model Z's have a Tanabe exhaust installed and the owners seem happy. Has anyone knowledge of a S30 owner running a Tanabe setup? I actually believe it would be fine muffler for the L6 in any displacement. The downside is the cost to find out! I'll have about seven hundred in mine before the muffler is purchased! Crazy as it sounds it isn't hard to get there. Here's my roster...

Janspeed 3-2-1 stainless steel header (old school from the UK and it is a piece of artwork) with 2" collector, 2" to 2.5" 304 S/S expander cone, 2.5" 304 S/S V-clamp flange kit and 2.5" 304 S/S mandrel-bent custom fitted piping. No muffler as of yet... but considering a Tuner Hyper Medallion with removable baffle (when I want that extra rummmpppfff).

All parts except the headers were purchased from Verocious Motorsports in DE. I looked at plenty of S/S component suppliers and VM was consistantly less expensive.