HybridZ

Tools For Body work

miamiKnights

I am going to start body work on my '72 240z. Buying the harbor freight welder; i have already have a 4" angle grider and sawzall with metal blades. I would like to know what is the best way to remove paint, or what tool is best. I saw on the mull videos a jackhammer with a spatula on the end being used to remove paint;however, i have also heard of radial sanders and sand blasting as an alternative. Which do you believe would the best according to price, user friendly, and results. Thank you.

well, i would imagine it depends on how much work/time and or $$ you want to put into it. I know another alternative is paint stripper although i have no experience in this.

personally i just sanded down my previous coat of paint, because i had no reason to go to bare metal again. (paint was laid properly, and had no adhersion problems)

EDIT: sanded with a electric sander, then sanded by hand afterwards.

Racer X will be sure to chime in on this at some point...so take his advice to heart.

i didnt realize that you didnt have to sand down to bare metal. I was going to spray the metal down with por-15 antirust, if i sand with your technique will the por-15 still work? Are you worried of rust popping up in the future, or did you use another anit-rust method. I just want to do this right the first time, or most efective with my budget.

was the electric sander radial of belt?

The best way is to have it "Media Blasted". That will show any and all problems right down to the bare metal. It's not necessiarily the less expensive way to go, but it is the best. Another alternative is using an industrial/aircraft/marine type stripper. They vary in price and intensity. Use gloves, eye protection, and a resporater. Several coats should do the trick. Another Master to ask is RacerX aka Ernie. He's pretty much up on things in the paint and prep area also. Good luck.

VAN

Guest TeamNissan