HybridZ

Little bit of help for the noob!

Hello all, im new to the Datsun world, so new that i don't even have my 280z yet, just waiting to pay off the last 200$ of it.

Anyways, I have been doing alot of searching and have came up with the idea that everyone here likes the JTR stuff more than anyone elses. If i'm wrong, please correct me :P

I am pretty set on doing a LT1 swap, because I dont fancy the 5.0's power, and LS1's are too expensive. I would like to run an auto behind it also.

I really would LOVE, just a complete sort of in depth write up, on how to swap a LT1 in. I would just like to know what people are using electrical wise, and any problems they encountered while trying to do so. Im just getting down to the nitty gritty on this because it will either be a carbed dinosaur 383 stroker :icon50: or the 95+? LT1. Are there any cheap stand alone systems or do most people just use the stock wiring harness?

Im just looking for soo many answers, and im not really having too much luck. :icon51:

383 stroker :P

The downside of that to me would definitely ONLY be the hassle of tuning the carb all the time and the gas mileage :wink:

I have searched and can only really find small portions of the LT1 swap. I have yet to find anything with even pictures of one being swapped. :icon_frow

• Administrators

Click the link in my signature that say's LT1/T56 240Z.

As was mentioned, the swap is very similar to a traditional small block conversion.

Buy the JTR manual if you don't already own it.

...and yes, the biggest difference is the EFI system. You have many choices. The cheapest... utilize a stock harness. The easiest... is probably a Painless Wiring harness.

Guest jays64II

carbs are easy and don't need much maintenance...just keep them clean and properly jetted. I put 300+ passes a year on mine and about 2000 street miles and rarely have to touch it.