HybridZ

Cam / fuel system choices

Guest John Pulis

What cam would you use, would you mod the fuel system?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. What cam would you use, would you mod the fuel system?

• Bigger fuel rail?
    • Bigger fuel pump?
    • After market computer brain?
    • Turbo Injectors?
    • Origninal cam
    • Level one cam
    • level two cam

Guest John Pulis

This car has been a project for 27 years. I have replaced everything at least once. Some interior parts, three times. It lives in my garage and sees only sunny days.

I am down to building a custom engine and I could use some help selecting a cam and fuel system. I could use some advice and I have never used a forum before. Let me begin by telling you a little about the car and drive train:

She is a fair weather ride and sparkels from bumper to bumper. The drive train begins with an normally asperated engine, an over size KN filter, three inch air plumbing to a modified Turbo 3" airflow meter, (I have used a lot of turbo parts on this non turbo engine) 3" throddle body and turbo intake ported to the stock head. The exhaust supports a ceramic coated headder and an oversize exhaust.

The body is a coupe but has the 2 + 2 suspension, strutts and springs. The fly wheel is also the bigger turbo 2 + 2 flywheel and cluch, B Warner trans and Turbo drive shaft. It has a 89 300Z limited slip differential and 83 turbo rear trailing arms that support the larger brakes. Everything was bolt on except the rear trans mount. I had to modify the mount itself to match the cross member support. It was a trick weld, but it worked and I did not distroy the rubber in the process.

Through the years I have been accumulating the necessary parts to complete the engine build. I do not wish to distroy my drive train by over HP. I am lead to believe it will take quite a beating. With this in mind, my target is 300 HP with a Nissan straight 6 block..