HybridZ

Possible to keep 5spd and console with V8?

Guest KraZ4spd

Guest KraZ4spd

I'm new to this thought of putting in a V8.

I don't want to lose any of the stock interior look. Is it possible to put a 5spd in and still keep my factory console?

If not I'm going to stay with an L28

yes, with the jtr method it will look stock, you will have to change out the tach and the speedo though, if that is the sole factor that you are going to do the v8 swap, its better you not even dare. you should do it for performance reasons, your fabricating an entirely new drivetrain but you have a problem with having to cut up a dash and center console?????? cmon man!!

Guest Anonymous

What year is the Z you want to convert? (280z? what year). You may not need to do anything to the stock gauges and have them work.

Lone

You can put a 280Z tach in and it will be very difficult t osee the difference. The 280Z tach is needed if going to HEI. The JTR manual (see links page) shows how to do this. You can also get a T-5 out of a Camaro or Firebird and not have to do a thing to the console.

HTH,

------------------

Pete Paraska - 73 540Z - Marathon Z Project

pparaska@home.com

Pete's V8 Datsun 240Z Pages

Guest Fast Frog

The answer is yes! Your JTR kit includes a speedo cable that hooks up to the stock speedometer and connects to the T-5 speedo housing(you may need to change speedo gears in the housing if later you find your speedo is off, but that's another post). The tach can be adjusted as stated in the JTR manual and you can use the 20,000(?)ohm resister as noted; however, you'll have better luck if you spend $80-$90 on a tach enhancer which gives the tach the 12Volt square wave input it needs. I got my tach enhancer from MSD.