HybridZ

which rear end?

RickB

Hey All,

I am new to this particular swap and would like to identify the rear end AND the gear ratio in my 76 280. I take it that the stock rear for this car is a R180? From what I've read obviously the best choice is the R200 and I may be interested in that route (got one for sale?). I am primarily interested in straight line acceleration, i.e. drag racing..though i like the way this car handles so I'd rather not go with a solid axle.

How about upgrades to the stock rear end (assuming that's what is in it?). Spicer U-joints or?

thanks in advance...

------------------

RickB

280V8

350/700R4

12.77 w/radials & pump gas so far... http://photos.yahoo.com/bornabov

Dallas, TX

[This message has been edited by RickB (edited October 25, 2000).]

Guest Anonymous

The gear ratio is stamped on the edge of the ring gear as X:Y x and y being the number of teeth on the ring gear and pinion gear, just divide. You can't tell from the outside what the ratio is(Other than guesstimate by counting revolutions).

I don't know when they switched to r200s... but look at the 'mustache bar' thing. If it's flat in the vertical transverse plane then it's a r180, if it has a slight curvature in the vertical transverse plane then it's a r200. I think that is true, but don't quote me on it!

The diff housings are visibly different also, but I can't remember where I saw a nice side-by-side picture of them.

------------------

Morgan

http://z31.com/~morgan/s30

http://carfiche.com

Guest Fast Frog

Your '76 Z should have the R200 rearend. That's the one that the half shafts are bolted on the outside of the pumpkin. Stock diff gear ratio for the '76 is 3.54. I'm running 400HP+ with a 383 in my '76Z and have had no problems with the rearend-but I don't track race a lot!

[This message has been edited by Fast Frog (edited October 26, 2000).]

quote:

Originally posted by Morgan: