HybridZ

Looking for a tuner in all the wrong places....

Calgary280ZT

Hey guys. Thanks to Bo, I now have the Wolf V500 installed and mostly tuned (now that I'm back in Calgary, plan to do a little tuning in the next couple of weeks).

Here's my problem: at the end of June we're installing a polished and ported Rebello head, Iskey turbo cam, T3/T4 turbo, Supra 440cc injectors, etc. Obviously, Wolf will need to be re-tuned. With Bo's base map I'm confident we can get it running and do some ghetto tuning to the point where it's driveable. But I'm not that technical and I don't feel confident doing any more than that. I'd rather pay somebody to do it right than blow something up (this car is my DD and it makes long distance trips between Calgary and California, so it has to be reliable).

Today I called around to some tuning shops in Calgary. Scared the crap out of me! No one has any experience with Wolf...or a turbo-charged L28...but by God everyone of those guys thinks they can tune the car to perfection with no problem. Yikes!

Questions:

1) What should I pay for a tune (with or without dyno runs)? I'm being quoted $750-$1,000 and up in Calgary.

2) Is there a shop in California that would have the experience to do the tune at a reasonable price?

3) should I just do the tune myself? Bo says it's easy with a little practice, but I really do worry about blown head gaskets etc. On the other hand, I'm reasonably computer literate and I watched Bo do the initial tune, maybe I could handle it.

Anyway, appreciate any advice you guys can provide. Reliability is more important than saving a few bucks, so I don't mind spending to do it right. On the other hand, I don't mind doing something if I think it's within my limited technical capabilities.

Markham

I'd say #3 for the following reasons: