HybridZ

Car falls on its face between 2nd/3rd gear at the track

Evan Purple240zt

This is for my RB25det powered S14.

I finally hit the track again last night. Somewhat frustrating evening but good, because I am working bugs out.

One of them being that I blow off more pipes than a cheap prostitute. I need to totally redo the I/C setup and bead roll everything.

My first and fastest clean pass of the night was 13.15, not too bad since I am a horrible driver and couldn't get outta the hole to save my life.

My real question here is about my 2nd to 3rd. The car was absolutely hauling through 1st and 2nd. Downright violent accelleration. When I would shift into 3rd and drop the hammer it would bog like there was NO power then all of the sudden take off. I mean, literally 1 second of bog.

I tried pulling some fuel out of the acceleration map at 5k and above thinking I was overfueling when shifting and going rich. Garrett said he didn't see black smoke or anything. I never got a clean run in after I made that change.

I was also having major problems with my launch, this car just makes NO torque down low. I couldn't light up those ET street radials out of the hole to save my life. Maybe I was being too gentile on the go pedal. My act clutch leaves no room for slipping. Its on or off.

Suggestions or thoughts?

Evan

Is your engine a s1? If so I would suspect the igniter. They seem to get hot and just shut down for a second. Mine did that a few times before insulated it with rubber feet. It has not messed up since then. You also may want to check out the ground wire that comes off of the coil harness and bolts to the valley in the head. Corrosion between the head and the connector is pretty common and will cause things like this.

As for getting out of the hole... Clutches are cheaper than drivetrain hard parts. I have ben experimenting with different laubch rpm's with my car. So far launching a 3500 yeild me a 2.10 60' time. I also feather my clutch though.