HybridZ

Maybe a new project?

Guest co_427

Hi all,

I just ran across this site tonight and decided I had to sign up. You see I wrecked my '90 Mustang LX notchback Wednesday morning on the way to work. My Mustang has a 427 stroker (351W) and a Procharger supercharger putting out about 550 rear wheel horsepower. It also has a Lentech AOD racing transmission rated for 1000 hp. Well, like I said I wrecked the Mustang, it will probably be a total but the drive train seems fine. I also have a '75 Datsun Z project car sitting in the garage with the Cal-Z kit 3/4 installed. What do you guys think, a match made in heaven?

Are there motor mounts available (should be the same as a 5.0)? Does anybody make sub-frame connectors for the Z? Anybody know how much HP the R200 rear end can handle? Can you get good limited slip for the R200? Has anybody swapped in a Dana 44 IRS from a Corvette?

I am new to this idea and this site. I figured I would pick the brains of the experts before I pulled the trigger on this project.

If you scroll up and look...we're IN the ford subforums. :wink:

Sounds like a fun combo though. A SB 427 would be pretty rad in a Z.

Are there motor mounts available (should be the same as a 5.0)?
You'll want to get the JTR V8 conversion manual first. It covers a Chevy install, but the mounting would be pretty much the same, just with Ford mounts.

Does anybody make sub-frame connectors for the Z?
Not a pre fabbed kit, that I know of. Some folks have put in a S14 subframe before though.

Anybody know how much HP the R200 rear end can handle?
I don't know the particulars, but there are members here that have FAR more power than 550 rwhp that run the stock R200 and half-shafts.

Can you get good limited slip for the R200?
yes. There are about 5-6 different types of LSD that will fit the R200.

Has anybody swapped in a Dana 44 IRS from a Corvette?