HybridZ

KILLER RAM AIR FOR ALL!

Guest tom sixbey

Guest tom sixbey

hey guys, i am planning out a ram air system and i've come up with some ideas i need support or correction on.. I'm no aerodynamic expert, but here's what i think the system should consist of:

1. A SMALL airbox/filter system that fits directly ontop of the carb with inlets for ram air, an inlet for underhood bypass air, and a cable operated selection system that lets the driver choose between bypass and ram air.

2. Very large intake scoops on the front of the car that are connected to the airbox through air tubes that DECREASE in diameter as they go towards the airbox.

3. EGT gauges and a lean/rich adjustment control for the fuel injection system.

I'm guessing that the venturi effect in the air ducts (decreasing diameter) will force the air to accelerate as it moves towards the airbox. When a car is traveling at high speeds, a TON of air is stacking up infront of it. Instead of trying to push that air out of the way, why not take it and force it down the car's throat? This would necessitate VERY large induction scoops in the airdam/ grille, but i believe it would work out.. - what do you guys think?

Hi Tom,

It should work.

Might go lean if the input was way to large, but it would take track time and playing with jets to fine the highest mph.

I was going to play with the same idea in the upcomming weeks.

What I was going to do is this.

I'm running a holley 750 vac sec and going to get a volicty stack from holley and get one of the 10" air cleaners, cut out the top same size as the stack, braize same size flex tubing onto top and run it to the front of the grill with a wide mouth type inlet and see how that does at the 1/4 mile track.

I've seen pics of turbo forced induction type of inlets for carbs but have no idea on where to buy them. Banks has a bunch of pics in a holley book. Looks real neat!!!!

What do you think?

Dave

------------------

www.geocities.com/kc6wfs/240z.html