HybridZ

Looking for good Welder

Guest MM_280Z

Guest MM_280Z

Looking for a all purpose welder for use on my Z. Should do low guage unibody stuff and high strength structural stuff too, and aluminum too if that's not too much to ask from an entry-level welder.

I am completely new to welding, so I don't realy know what to look for.

I see ranges of MIG welders from $200 to thousands. I see 110 V, 140 A welders for $400 and the same thing with "Commercial" in front of the name for $900. What is the difference?!

I understand it's hard to go wrong with a MIG welder, but what should I look for? Do I need gas? Is flux welding merely an inconvenience (cleaning flash) or are there strength issues involved too? How long does, say, 20 cubic feet of gas last?

And what about TIG welding? I saw a guy once build up a handle on top of a screw using a TIG welder. If it is so much more precise why is it not more widely used?

Lastly, how much could I expect to pay for a decent welding setup (welder, mask, gloves, gas, regulator, respirator, etc.) I don't expect to do commercial speed welding, but given adequate time the setup should allow me to do all types of welds from shiny and presentable to rugged and strong.

MM--I can't answer all the questions-but I can give ya my .02--I just bought a Hobart Handler 135 wirefeed Mig-it works with both flux-core (no gas) or Argon sheilded wire, and can weld up to 3/16" metals. If you shop around a little, you can find this welder for about $325.

A gas rig will give you much cleaner welds, if you can afford it, make sure you get one-a bottle of gas will last a fairly long tim e, depending on how usage-call your local welding supply, and they can let you know how much a bottle is (rental or buy, plus cost of gas)