HybridZ

Need info, can't find in JTR book!

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! This is taking forever! Looks like another couple of months and I'll have a stock 350 in my '75 280. This forum has been very helpful, but I can't find all my answers in the JTR book. Hopefully these questions have simple answers:

1. Is there an alternate way to use the stock Datsun water temperatre gauge? I can't find a 16 x 1.5P tap for under $100.00!

2. Does anyone know a spec. for distrubitor shaft endplay?

3. Are there any other tailhousings I can use other than the Caprice model for my 700R4? I have heard some truck's have the trans mount in the same location.

4. Recommendations for a good Holley manual? I'm a Nissan dealer tech schooled in fuel injection, I haven't played with many carbs? I've got a 650 vac. sec. that needs built. It will sit on an edelbrock performer between stock 75cc cast heads on a stock 350 4 bolt. I guess I would like suggestions for a good carb rebuild kit, as well.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!!

Also, feel free to ask any Nissan specific questions. I have access to ASSIST(Nissan's tech database) and could possibly help somewhere.

I took a picture copy of JTR Caprice tailhousing to a local tranmission rebuild shop that sell used parts over the counter. The salesman took one look at the picture, walked to the back and brought me a used one. $10.00 please! icon_biggrin.gif

Bought the tap at an all metric tool supply $38.00 please. icon_sad.gif

1. Is there an alternate way to use the stock Datsun water temperatre gauge? I can't find a 16 x 1.5P tap for under $100.00!

what's wrong with the JTR method? haven't altered mine in 5 yrs and 3 or more engine topend teardowns....

3. Are there any other tailhousings I can use other than the Caprice model for my 700R4? I have heard some truck's have the trans mount in the same location.