HybridZ

'72 240z rusting away

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hello to all. I finally decided to make my first post here after reading all of the others for hours at a time. I've been wanting to build a V-8Z for a couple years now but haven't had the space until now. I have a question concerning a '72 240z I found. The guy that owns it is asking $450 for it but it has quite a bit of rust and doesn't run. As for the engine, I don't care because I've got a 350 in the garage that's currently being rebuilt to take the original's place but the rust scares me. I have some basic welding experience but not on cars and I'm wondering if this car is worth saving. Several body panels are rusted through as well as some good rust in the battery compartment. The frame rails appeared to have only minor surface rust but I can't say for sure. I didn't have time to inspect the floor pan but I'm sure it's rusted also. Other than the rust the car is completely straight and complete. Any input on the salvagability of this car would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Guest kc6wfs

If I had the choich,,,, i'd stay clear of it.

The front fenders and all can be replaced, floor pans ect, but if there is enough to be very noticable there I'm sure is a lot more than you have seen.

Sounds to me like it might be more of a pain than what it's worth.

Any one else?

Dave

See BLKMGK's "Boneheaded Moves I Wish I Hadn't Made FAQ" in the General Information section of the forum:

I think I posted that I regret ever buying a 260Z with rust--I'm shopping 240Zs now and I have turned down several due to rust. I will not let this happen again. Spending $3500 on a rust free Z is better than spending $450 on a rusty scupper. Do not do it!

David

Guest Anonymous

I appreciate the responses and I guess I'll go ahead and follow your advice. It's just so hard to find a 240 but I'm sure a good one will present itself eventually.