HybridZ

rust repair

74.5 347Z

hey everybody,

i am new to z's, kinda. i was in japan for a couple years and owned a '84 fairlady. anyway, about a month ago i bought a '74 that looks pretty solid underneath but has a bit of rust on the rear quarter panels and rocker panels. my question is if i sand blast rusted areas how should i treat the metal? also, if i plan to replace rocker panels with ones from victoria british how would i treat the area inside the panels?

I sand blasted the rear taillight panel of my z and will be doing a lot of blasting under the hood once the inliner comes out. I am relatively new to painting so when I went to pick up sand for the blaster at the local Dupont paint store ((go Jeff Gordon)) I told the guy that I was going to need a primer for bare metel. He sold me some etching primer. It goes on nice and is a puke green color. Now I have no idea what "etching primer" does but I used it like he said. There are some great guys here who know a lot about painting so maybe one of them will help out. Good Luck. 2thumbs.gif

My opinion is that etching primer isn't really necessary at all since the quality of well known epoxy primers is so good. Also, the metal will already be etched by the sandblasting.

I just finished sandblasting my car and am coating with PPG DP90LF, no etching primer.

Etch primer can't hurt but you also can't put filler over some brands. I think there is less compatibility with brand x etch and brand y primers too.

The worst it can do is increase the mils of paint on your car, which is not always a bad thing.

Owen

owen,