HybridZ

2 Questions

Guest Anonymous

Sean, according to David Vizard (Vizard the Wizard) the optimum HP level is obtained as hot as you can run the engine without a fast breakdown of the engine oil. So, hotter is better, up to a point. I have a 190 degree thermostat on my engine, which fully opens at about 200 degrees I think. epending on how then engine runs, I may even put in a lower temp thermostat to let the engine live longer. Cooler does mean longer life.

The rollcage does stiffen the chassis quite a bit. Leonard (Fairlady 327) said it made a total difference and his chassis hardly flexes at all now that he has the 8 point cage installed. I have an 8 point cage ready to install, and I may just opt to change it to a 10 point cage! I don't know who makes MSA's cage, but mine is from SW Racecars, made especially for the Z. They run about $150 for an 8-point cage.

Davy

I've read arguments that running near 210 can cause too many hot spots in the heads. Then I've read (Lingenfelter?) saying this nucleate boiling in the head water jackets is BS, that a pressure of 16 psi in the system prevents that. I think there's wisdom in both camps. Even with the system at 16 psi, the change in boiling temp of the coolant may be high enough to allow local (nucleate) boiling. Once you have that, the water jacket is insulated from the water and convective heat transfer goes away (locally). The effect on a cast iron head would seem to be different than an AL one. Interesting stuff, but I'm confused as to who to believe.

How about some dyno runs with different thremostats? Anybody here own a dyno icon_wink.gif?

Here's a copy of part of an e-mail SW sent to me.

We appreciate your interest in S&W RaceCars. If you have additional questions or would like to place an order, please call and contact one of the salesman below.

1-800-523-3353

Chad Whitenight..................ext# 18

Mike Hall........................ext# 16

Stokes Hellerman.................ext# 15