HybridZ

Clutch & Flywheel for L24 bored to 2.6

Dershum

After pulling the L24 from my 71 240 and sending it off to the machine shop, it looks like I'm going to need to have it bored, so I figured since we're doing it anyway, we may as well take it out to 2.6 (or so) while we're at it. We're also planning a mild street cam as well (haven't decided on the specifics yet, and I'm not an expert on cams, so I won't begin to try to act like one).

Anyway, the shop said to go ahead and bring in the clutch and flywheel so the flywheel can be balanced with everything else during the rebuild. So I wasn't originally planning to do much over stock with the motor, so I was hoping to get a little direction on the clutch/flywheel (the original flywheel is shot). After reading around quite a bit, it looks like the Fidanza aluminum flywheel is a pretty good unit, and inexpensive (comparably) to the other options out there.

http://thmotorsports...1/i-165495.aspx

However, after reading around it seems like there are two different sized flywheels running around out there that "fit"...a 225mm and a 240mm. If I'm understanding correctly, the 240mm is from the heaver 2+2 cars though...is this correct? The reason I ask is that I want to make sure the clutch I get is correct for the flywheel. Again, after reading around, it looks like clutch masters is regarded as good quality and good performance, so I was looking at this unit:

http://thmotorsports...0/i-147619.aspx

So I'm hoping that someone who's been there will let me know if this is a good direction for where I'm going, or if I'm completely wrong. Also, aside from the clutch/flywheel, are there any other parts I should be picking up now so they can be installed on the long block when the clutch/flywheel are installed?

If you're not making a ton of power, get the 225mm. You can get the 240mm unit if you want.