HybridZ

intake popping

i got a 78 Z Ive adjusted the TPS sensor and the timing is at 10* as my book states, but i got this intake pop that wont go away i am new to the z's. i try and rev the motor and as it slowly trys to pick up rpm's there is an intake pop thats keeping the motor from gaining rpm's. an it also is popping through the exhaust. ive done seafoam 2 times and figured it was just dirty injectors but apparently bot... any help would be much appreciated. :blink:

What's the fuel pressure? When was the last time it ran right? What's the history of the engine and parts?

Several possible causes, some simple and some expensive, but confirming the basics is a good idea before getting carried away.

What's the fuel pressure? When was the last time it ran right? What's the history of the engine and parts?

Several possible causes, some simple and some expensive, but confirming the basics is a good idea before getting carried away.

not sure what the fuel pressure is yet havent had time to test that. when i first got it ran right then i pulled the motor to repaint it and after that tstarted this. the lady that had it before me let it sit outside for 12+years and i pued around 4 gallons of oil water mix from the motor because it did have a cracked head.

In my 78 that was under similar conditions had a very rusty tank. Fuel pressure was good at idle but above that nothing and then popIng like your describing. Sitting that long I would be surprised if the tank is rust free.

Also change your fuel filter or check it at a minimum.

the intake popping sounds like a lean running mixture but popping out the exhaust too could make it something else like the Air Mass Flow sensor. As NewZed states above we will need to know more about the engine etc.