HybridZ

I need 350HP out of my 289. How can I do it?

Jwink25

I would like to get about 350HP out of my '67' 289. I will have the engine block reworked and have the internals balanced.

I was thinking on using:

Roush World Class heads

Comp 280 Magnum cam

I'll be running about 9.5 to 1 CR

Edelbrock Performer RPM manifold

Headers...whatever will fit.

Can anyone give me an idea what this setup could get me? Any hints or tips would be great. I have never built up a 289 before. Also, this car will see mostly street action with a few trips to the strip. So good drivablity should be taken into account. I don't mind a ruff idle...just not to rough. Anyone ever run a 280 Magnum cam before?

Thanks! 2thumbs.gif

Jason Winkfield

I don't have any numbers in front of me, but 350hp on a stroke of less than 3" is going to require some RPM, which is why I love this motor. The good thing about a lumpy cam in a small lightweight car (like our Zs) is that drivability is usually not a problem, even with an aluminum flywheel. I'm not an expert here, but will give some suggestions which I found works well on the 289. An old Torker intake (not the TorkerII) is a real good intake, and will provide a broad range (considering it is a single plane intake) all the way up to 7k. The F4B is also an excellent dual plane intake too. I would stick with a carb in the 650 range, but I very successfully us an old 780vs (3310) that works very well. I'm running a cam that has 250 degrees duration at .050 with net lift of .544" on 112 separation. It is a mild (by solid roller standards) solid roller cam. With this cam, 10.3 compression ratio, Victor Jr, 780cfm, 1.75" medium length tube headers, and Motorsport J302 heads (BTW, there are some on EBay for sale). I've been told by my cam grinder that he did not feel he was overstating this combo at being around 377hp.