HybridZ

Leaky Injector Rail and Engine Startup

Flak

You're all probably all tired of my use of this section, lol.  This is my first car, so I'm a pretty inexperienced mechanic.  Good news though, I tried starting my Z today.  It cranked, but didn't start.  I did not have any fuel pressure due to an injector leak out of my ProTunerz fuel rail.  I cranked it for a total of about 10-15 times, about 5-10 seconds each before I realized the injectors were leaking and I had no fuel pressure.  One mechanic friend I have said that flooded sparkplugs/engine could be disastrous.  Another guy from a shop nearby said that it was fine, and that the exhaust would just have black smoke from the extra fuel.  My question is: Am I ok to just fix the leak and continue to try to start it?  Or do I have to somehow drain sparkplug area?

Thanks in advance,

Flak

Removing the plugs on an L engine is so easy it would be foolish not to do it.  Take them out, disconnect the coil negative wire so that the wires don't spark and the injectors don't inject and spin the engine.  Cover the holes with rags or paper towels to collect the spray.  Beware of sparks, have a fire extinguisher handy.  Check your oil for fuel.

Injectors don't usually leak.  Sounds more like the injector circuit was grounded and the injectors were held open electrically.  Better check your wiring.  Be careful.

1 hour ago, NewZed said:

Removing the plugs on an L engine is so easy it would be foolish not to do it.  Take them out, disconnect the coil negative wire so that the wires don't spark and the injectors don't inject and spin the engine.  Cover the holes with rags or paper towels to collect the spray.  Beware of sparks, have a fire extinguisher handy.  Check your oil for fuel.

Injectors don't usually leak.  Sounds more like the injector circuit was grounded and the injectors were held open electrically.  Better check your wiring.  Be careful.