HybridZ

440 in a ZX...

BRAAP

• Administrators

Howdy Gang. I am relaying this question for my father who is having trouble posting the forum.

He is about to swap in a Chrysler 440 and auto tranny into his '83 ZX Turbo car. he would like to know if any one has swapped the Chrysler Big Block into a ZX and what issues arouse during the swap?

His name is Ron Ruschman and he can be reached at...

rock52@uswest.net

Thanks gang...

check out ratsun.com, mr. barkley has some screaming ass big block zx and z cars that ravage the street somewhere, i would like t do one, but right now its beyond what i can do without paying someone for some part of the fabup.

bad ass when you open the hood and youre greeted with hemi heads and dual quads i think. (cough) pistol grip (cough)

Guest super280z

Paul,

im glad to know that you post here, you're site was one of the first i studied and compelled me to start my conversion. about you're inquiry,

anything can be done with the right time and money. (as im sure you know) there was a link that i remember about a year ago where someone shoe-horned a 440 into an RX7. but i cant remember where. good luck on that search,

Guest Anonymous

super280z: i have emailed the person you are talking about but it wasn't a 440 it was a 451. but basically for all intents and perposes the blocks are identical on the exterior. very nice guy, he told me that he has built over 8 big block mopar 440 and after this 451 (it was his first) he said he would never do anotheer 440 unless he had to. he said they just rap out very quick and make excellent power. if i was going to do a big block this would be my second choice.

whats my first choice you ask? i've always thought a 528 hemi would be a fun project. too bad they have a prohibitive price tag.

fairady327: pistol grip all the way!!! thats what i plan on running once i get my beast of a project rolling

if mopars werent so dang expensive, youd see me in a drop top hemi cuda plum crazy for sure....