HybridZ

Fairlady parts

Guest Anubis

Ok i'm new to the Z family so I've gotta a question thats been racking my mind. I've seen pictures of the Fairlady Z's and I noted the mirrors and the dash and i the fenders I think also.

But what other parts make the Fairlady differ from the US Z?

I'm intrested in sourcing Fairlady equipment to give the feel and look of a true fairlady.

I know where to get the mirrors but i've never seen a Fairlady with the mesh grill that i've heard about. So what do you guys think?

Teh differences in FairladyZ and US-Spec Vehicles can be fairly easy to spot. Othertimes not.

For instance, on S30's on of the quirky JDM requirements is that FLARES are kept in the vehicle. On the passenger's kickpanel, under the dashboard, there are two black clips for Nissan-Flares in little red plastic tubes.

Of course the dash is RHD, and on a standard Fairlady Z, you will have an L20A six cylinder. Only the Fairlady 240Z had the L24. After that, until the advent of the ZX, all FairladyZ's had the 2-litre motor.

A ZS model will have less jute and sound deadening (also may have no clock, or radio with bitchin' blanking plugs instead...) and will have plastic mats throughout the vehicle except fo the diamond vinyl on the tranny tunnel.

The doors have none of the reinforcement that started in 73 in the USA, and starting in 76, the Fairlady Z-L (Luxury) was available from the factory with POWER WINDOWS!

In-Dash Air Conditioning was available from day one with the Fairlady Z, unlike the Us spec vehicle which had to wait until 74 to get a Factory in-dash cooler...

The Hood Emblem, Horn Emblem and Quarter Pillar Emblem are all simple "Z". No "Datsun" anywhere on the vehicle.

On later S30's they had the "NAPS" on the left corner of the hatch which stood for "Nissan Anti Pollution System" and they had catalytic converters starting in 76---and actually had CLEANER emissions standards than California in those years, all the way through 81.