HybridZ

??? for Turbo Gurus

I'm always thinking about the TT SBC inthe back of my mind (which I should forget about until the damn car is finished and on the road malebitchslap.gif ), but if one were to TT a 383 SBC, what would the ideal Turbo specs be?

Assuming: 8.5:1 SCR, FI, maximum boost of 10-12psi, and boost to come on at about 3500 rpm to a max rpm of 6500rpm.

Like I said, nothing I plan to do in the very near future, but it is a helleva sexy topic, no?

Tim

Tim, I have no real experience, but I enjoy playing around with TurboCalc. According to it, a 383 with an 80% VE, Ambient Air temp of 90*, 12 PSI, Compressor efficiency of 75%, and a 75% efficient Intercooler, the engine could support 710 HP and 574 Ft-Lbs at 6500 RPM. Also according to the program, the correct turbos would be a T3, 60 Compressor Trim, 1.06 A/R, or a GT25 350 HP model. I know virtually nothing about what these Turbo Specs mean, but there are plenty here that can elaborate.

The program also says you will need 101.19 Octane with 8.5:1 and 12 PSI.

Also, for a 12.1:1 A/F ratio, you would need 439 CC/min of fuel flow at each injector. It suggests this injector: Bosch 0 280 150 351 6Amp Peak, 2Amp Hold.

Guest Anonymous

I could be wrong, but I think a T-3 would be rather small for that displacement (on the exhaust side especially). Wouldn't something like a T04E or something bigger be a bit better matched? I don't know alot about that either and best advice is if and when your ready call majestic or one of the turbo people and let them lead you to the right one, a badly sized turbo will either be restrictive or want to rip your neck off when the lag quits (although with a V8 I still contend the torque of the motor will cause you to pass through most lag before you know it). Just some thoughts and yes its a very sexy topic. :D

Regards,

Lone

The program also says you will need 101.19 Octane with 8.5:1 and 12 PSI.