HybridZ

300zxTT intercoolers... A good choice?

RacnJsn95

I have access to a set of 300zxTT intercoolers. I was wondering if I could just use one of them on my 280zxt, or would it not be enough? Another thought I has was to take the (straight out) end caps off and weld the cores together there. Then it would be pretty good sized. I know the core design was pretty good. What do you guys think of this?

I am a certified aluminum welder, and I have a TIG welder, so it won't cost me anything to weld it but my time, a little gas, and welding rod. I was in the sticky turbo for begginers guide at the top that you shouldn't choose an intercooler for an engine with less HP than your L28ET... Well if they 300zxTT can make ~300 I don't see why it wouldn't work for me. I'm not out to set the world on fire. I'm just looking to make between 200-300 HP.

Hey Donna, haven't seen you on the board in awhile. Still got the sweet ZX?

I am a certified aluminum welder, and I have a TIG welder, so it won't cost me anything to weld it but my time, a little gas, and welding rod.

That certainly changes the out look. Weld it up and give it a try. Don't forget there is a reason there are upgrades to the stock intercoolers for these cars. I would still do some test for pressure loss thru the cores once you get it all done.

Another thing to think about it that I'm sure they will be more efficent than the stock intercoolers due the better placement infront of the radiator instead of in the fenders.

Hey Donna' date=' haven't seen you on the board in awhile. Still got the sweet ZX?

I am a certified aluminum welder, and I have a TIG welder, so it won't cost me anything to weld it but my time, a little gas, and welding rod.

That certainly changes the out look. Weld it up and give it a try. Don't forget there is a reason there are upgrades to the stock intercoolers for these cars. I would still do some test for pressure loss thru the cores once you get it all done.