HybridZ

New to Z scene

Guest Rider_X

Guest Rider_X

Hello,

I am a non mechanically IT guy. I am going to be buying two 71/74 z's for a awesome price.

I am debating on whether or not I should swap out the engine. My definites are to have a racing suspencion in place, as well as four wheel disk brakes. Maybe lower it a bit as well.

Also switch out the tranny for a 5 speed.

My question is this. I want to use the car as a daily driver and seeing as how gas prices are so bloody high these days I wan to make the car as fuel friendly as possible.

My question is how many of you actually use your cars for a daily driver? (I live in south florida so no need to worry about snow and salt)

Also any suggests on what would be a good engine? My friend imports engines from Japan for a living so I can get a good deal on just about any modern day engine.

I want to repeat i am a total noob so if you guys could point me in the right direction of designing the set up of these cars (when we plan to give to my little bro as a graduation gift from high school)

One of them is a rust bucket and I know its going to cost alot to restore it but what is the measuring stick to figure out if it is worth saving or not?

Well here is the low down on concerns over upgrades and swaps...

If you are not mechanically inclined, you are going to pay a pretty hefty price to get one converted. I would charge by the hour depending on the job for doing coilovers and big brake swaps, primarely because they are time consuming to do. Doing an engine swap would cost you quite a bit, even with someone who is seasoned to swap it in.