HybridZ

Help me diagnose my problem! 240z stalling!

Here's the problem: my 240z stalls after 5-10mins of use...i'm no mechanic but i'm pretty sure it's electrical ( using common sense ). The thing is that the day before this started happening i drove it about 35 mi. to LA and 35 mi. back home with no problems at all. I tryed to look to see if something got disconnected or if something is shorting out, but no luck. Everything looks ok.

What happens is that i start the car....no problem, runs fine, idles, revs up perfectly but after a few mins. of driving it just suddenly stalls. Actually sometimes it stalls and then it comes back to life and then stalls again....as if i was switching the car on and off. Also after it stalls, it's hard to start it back up but if i wait like 30 sec or a min. it starts fine and then after another min it stalls. Is it the battery, the alternator or volt reg. Please help!!

I don't know if it's the coil...since it's pretty new (crane's PS60) and i removed the ballast not to long ago because i have an electronic ign. conversion. Can it be the fact that i removed the ballast? Also my alt makes a high pittched whinning noise, so i think it's not working right. All connections are tight so...i'm clue less! How do i check ifto see it's the coil? Thanks

Not to famillar with aftermarket coils but the stock setup had a external ballast. Does the one you have, have an internal ballast? If so then you don't need to worry about that. Might want to check the spark plugs and the wires.

If there is not ballast at all then it will cause premature wear of the plugs. Th ballast is a type of relay that steps down the power to the coil. When starting, power is unrestricked to help starting in cold weather and then the power is stepped down to reduce plug wear (electrolosis). It will work and run for a while but it will eventually have inconsistant spark because of plug wear.