HybridZ

Voltage Regulator Clicking? 73 240z

JSM

• 3 weeks later...

Okay, been 2 weeks since I replaced the battery. Jumped in and it was dead as a door nail. I mean, like only .5 volts.

Obviously something is shorting or on. Where is the best place to start w/ the investigation? Mechanically, I fairly strong, electrically, I'm a novice.

When it comes to fixing drains on batteries on cars, it's fairly straight foreward if you use a lot of patience and are methodical. It's fairly easy to get frustrated, but it does help to go back to the beginning and try again.

You can think of the flow of electricity through the car like the flow of water. It leaves the battery (when car is off) at a certain pressure (volts) and flows at a certain rate (amps) through a restrictor (load, ie light bulb, electric motor, etc) and then back to the battery. Using an amp-meter capable of handleing at least 20amps (it'll need to be an in-line, where you connect it inside the circuit, or path, the electricity flows in, clamp-on amp meters are for AC, or alternating current, while cars are DC, for direct current) to see which paths the power is taking when your car is turned off. I know I'm going completely back to basics, but I have no idea what you already know.

Keep in mind you may have gotten another dead battery, it is wallmart.