HybridZ

Wet-Sanding How-To, as promised.

MusPuppis

Wetsanding How-To, By John Rodwell (aka MusPuppis)

If this is worthy of sticky status I can make any changes required.

By way of intro let me say that I am a student. I am not a profesional. This is one way to get the job done, not THE way. It works well for me and has been compiled and altered based on information found here, in books, my own experiences, my teachers info and just general tid-bits that I pick up as I go. So again, this isnt the definitive, one and only way to do it, but it should serve as a reasonable guide.

Heres how I do it..

First and foremost, get all your tools and materials ready before hand. This includes the space you'll be doing the work. I like to start by cleaning the hell out of the area I'll be using. You want an area thats very well lit and as free from crud and debri as humanly possible. Really, doing the work outside in an open area is one of the better ways to get it done if you dont have an extremely well lit and clean garage or a paint booth handy. Good lighting is important, you need to be able see what your doing. It needs to be clean because if you get crap on the paper or finish while your sanding or buffing you can very quickly and very easily put some NASTY scratchs in your paint. Cleaning up and keeping it clean is one of those little steps that can save you a massive amount of grief down the road.

Now comes time to get your tools, chemicals and materials in order. I'll list a basic run down of what I use and why.

Water Hose - A constant supply of water is great. Keeps the surface cleaner as you work which improves your visibility and just makes it simpler as you go.

Bucket - Obvious.. ya fill it with water and haul it around.

Sponge - Put it in your bucket damnit. Ha. Simply a medium to get the water from the bucket to the car. Helpful for wiping panels off as you go.