HybridZ

What kind of turbo do I have? Downpipe?

Can anyone tell me what kind of turbo and downpipe I have? I got this downpipe from another member who assured me it would fit up with what I thought was a stock 83 ZXT even though it was off a different Z, but from looking at the two pieces (See below), I don't see how they could fit together...

490585558_eb5112c77e_m.jpg ! = 490601273_c54b8a7005_m.jpg

Is it possible my motor doesn't have a stock turbo? Or did I just get sent a downpipe that won't fit? Or am I just way off base here?

Sorry I don't know enough to figure this out myself, I'm new to this turbo game.

This is the info I was provided, so I guess based on what you've said is that it's a 300ZX turbo downpipe, which won't fit on my 280ZX turbo....

"Ill put it this way, I ran a T3 from a 300zx turbo and I only had the 300ZX downpipe. I was going to buy a 280zxt downpipe but I test fitted the unit and it fit great! I ended up going with a diff turbo so I changed that out obviously.

A Nissan T3 is a Nissan T3 so it will definatly fit."

So.... anyone have a downpipe that I can buy? I'm trying not to buy a nice expensive one until I know the motor runs, then I'll start buying expensive parts.

The turbocharger definatly looks like a stock 280zxt. I know for a fact that a downpipe from a early 300zxt (84-86) will fit. However, a later 300zxt (87+) I have no idea, but I'm guessing that is where your problem is. What kind of downpipe do you want? If all you want is the crappy stock cast iron one I could probably find one for you.

All I'm looking for right now is a crappy cast iron one (that will fit my car ;)) so I can try to get the thing running for a bit. Once the car drives and lasts more than a few minutes, I'll be doing performance work. Intercooler, downpipe, etc, but also suspension work and the like.

Wait a minute... I just realised another possible problem.