HybridZ

Tt Ls1 240z

I have already started posting pics of my project in the members project section because I didnt know that people couldnt post any replies. I would like to know if people have anything to say. This is my first build so any; advice, criticism, etc is welcome. Plus I am starting on the LS1 part of my build because I just got my donor car so i will be posting here. 2001 Camaro SS M6.

camaroSS006.jpg

camaroSS001.jpg

camaroSS003.jpg

camaroSS002.jpg

Is it easier to just pull this motor and trans from the bottom?

Is it easier to just pull this motor and trans from the bottom?

I have read on fbody.com that you can pull it out through the top without cutting anything but it would not be easy. Biggest issue I saw was how to bolt on the cherry picker since the engine sits so far under the cowl. That depends on how much of the car you want to salvage. I did the same thing with a 94 Z28. The front clip on mine was pretty useless since the car took the big hit right at the windshield post. I cut out the radiator support and much of the cowl to get better access for the cherry picker lifting bolts. Dropped the exhaust, disconnected the engine wiring from the chassis wiring and took off all the hoses. It lifted out very easy after that, transmission and all. It was much easier than putting it in the 280Z.

donor-top.jpg

If you want to remove the engine from the bottom, this book has step-by-step instructions. But since the procedure requires a car lift, it is probably useful as a reference for your mechanics if they have never removed LS1 from an f-car. It is a good book on LS1 by the way.

http://www.amazon.com/How-Build-High-Performance-Chevy-V-8s/dp/1884089844/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2/102-4885725-2776110?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1179211016&sr=8-2