HybridZ

Deleting Emissions Components for More Power?

zx beast

The old 240 was the fastest Z untill the 280zxt, but not because the motor necessarilly... It was frickin weight and emisions. So, I have a 1981 280zx, and I can't get the P90 head, but I have the f54 block (p79 head) but if I get rid of emisions, I should pull some real good horses... I have a header, flowmasters, K&n Cold air, no Ac, gettin rid of heater, all interior, and everything else I could do to dump weight. How do I get rid of emisions, what can I spare, and what can I do for some more affordable horsepower?

Dont know about where you live at, but here in Texas, my 27 yr old 1981zxt doesnt have to have the emissions checked. In fact, had to do a bit of cleaning on my cat converter today (cough cough), clearing out the cat made the turbo spool up quicker, and you can tell it breathes much better.

The old 240 was the fastest Z untill the 280zxt, but not because the motor necessarilly... It was frickin weight and emisions. So, I have a 1981 280zx, and I can't get the P90 head, but I have the f54 block (p79 head) but if I get rid of emisions, I should pull some real good horses... I have a header, flowmasters, K&n Cold air, no Ac, gettin rid of heater, all interior, and everything else I could do to dump weight. How do I get rid of emisions, what can I spare, and what can I do for some more affordable horsepower?

Dont know about where you live at, but here in Texas, my 27 yr old 1981zxt doesnt have to have the emissions checked. In fact, had to do a bit of cleaning on my cat converter today (cough cough), clearing out the cat made the turbo spool up quicker, and you can tell it breathes much better.