HybridZ

Loving the Forum! Need help

quick50

Whats up everybody I just bought a 1990 300zx NA about a month ago. This is my first tuner car so im just learning a few things. I bought it completly stock and I have added a 2 1/2 in custom cat less exhaust that might i add sounds awesome not raspy nor ricer like it has a deep sports car sound. I also installed a cold air intake, wheels,tires and window tint. I have searched this forum and I like it alot so far im getting alot of info but I still cant quite put together what I need to in order to make my choice on a motor swap. I dont want to have to do alot of fabricating and extra work. I want a setup that is a decent price but has pretty good power as well. I was planning on twin turboing whatever motor I get. My question is what would be a good simple motor swap that will give me good power to the wheels. Thanks in advance for your advice!

• Administrators

Welcome to HybridZ.

Doing a VG30DETT will probably be the easist with the most bang for the buck. The VH45DE from the Q45 fits real nice, though the intake doesnt clear the hood, i.e. Hood scoop or custom intake. Rotary should fit nice as well. :wink: Pretty much any other swap is going to require hacking of the car structure.

FWIW, A "tuner car" is generally a car that was prepped/modded by a "tuner shop", such as a "Callaway Corvette", "Roush Mustang","Ruf Porsche", or "Norwood Ferrari" are examples of a tuner car. A stock import that a private owner modifies himself, not a shop, is not really a "tuner car", even when finished. :wink:

Edited by BRAAP

A "tuner car" is generally a car that was prepped/modded by a "tuner shop", such as a "Callaway Corvette", "Roush Mustang","Ruf Porsche", or "Norwood Ferrari" are examples of a tuner car. A stock import that a private owner modifies himself, not a shop, is not really a "tuner car", even when finished. :wink:

Thanks for giving me a little insight on that...see I told ya I was new to this.