HybridZ

First Engine pull and Tear Down

sparticus13

Hi I'm new at all this. I am not a mechanic, I am an IT engineer but am very confident and can learn just fine.

I have a Z31 1987 300ZX Turbo Auto GLL with Digital Gauges. I am planning a lot of mods for this car. I have spent the last month or so in research and am now ordering parts and tools. I just finished building my work bench. In the next month or so I will be ready to work on the car.

I am planing on turning it into a show room race car. I will be having a shop do the body and paint.

I will be doing the mechanical work. As part of the project I would like to pull the engine out and do a rebuild. New gaskets and what not. I also have a brand new EFI and Engine bay wire harness. I will be replacing the old damaged ones with.

I am looking for any advise on tools, procedures, etc. I know the main tools and equipment I will need but recommendations on tools, brands, and types would be great. Also the best order and general steps to remove the engine.

Thanks

Chris

You should look into getting a factory service manual, they are 1000 times better than a chiltons. They cost a bit more, but worth every penny. I don't know what I would do without mine. I found one on e-bay here is the link.

As far as tools it really depends on how much use they are going to get, sure you can go out and order 5k worth of Snap-On tools, but really are you going to get 5k worth of use out of them. I generaly use Craftsman, but thats just my personal preference. On any tools I will use 1-2 times I will usually go to Harbor Freight and pick up a cheap one. It may break after 3-4 uses, but if I only needed it once, it served its purpose and cost a lot less than the same tool from a big name tool company.

I took apart my engine using 99% metric sockets with a 3/8 drive ratchet.