HybridZ

Need guidance -- EFI seems daunting

Iceman

I was originally planning to put my '88 Chevy 350 in my Z with a rochester q-jet spread-bore carb. Then I started thinking about using one of the all-inclusive TBI kits for around $1200. Then I started wondering about getting a stock TBI setup on ebay. Then I started wondering about just finding a donor car with FI and pulling everything on my own (might hit a budget limit)...

So I am faced with deciding which way to go, and how much risk there is of me getting in over my head trying to do a FI swap (especially with wiring).

Any opinions on wether it's worth the effort for a daily driver? (My goal is around 250-300HP)

Any opinions on the TBI kits vs finding a donor or snagging a stock setup off ebay. (I see a lot of the stock setups for only a few hundred $ or less)

I'll admit I'm a rookie and haven't done an engine swap before. I understand most of the principles, but even the JTR book seems a little daunting when it comes to the transmission section.:oops:

What I'm currently working with:

'70 240Z

'83(?) L28 w/ SUs

T5 trans (pretty sure it's a borg-warner)

Budget: $2K to start with

Edited by Iceman
Fixed title

I was originally planning to put my '88 Chevy 350 in my Z with a rochester q-jet spread-bore carb. Then I started thinking about using one of the all-inclusive TBI kits for around $1200. Then I started wondering about getting a stock TBI setup on ebay. Then I started wondering about just finding a donor car with FI and pulling everything on my own (might hit a budget limit)...

So I am faced with deciding which way to go, and how much risk there is of me getting in over my head trying to do a FI swap (especially with wiring).

Any opinions on wether it's worth the effort for a daily driver? (My goal is around 250-300HP)

Any opinions on the TBI kits vs finding a donor or snagging a stock setup off ebay. (I see a lot of the stock setups for only a few hundred $ or less)