HybridZ

? about tuning

boostless

I'm new to MS and was reading through the manuals wondering if you actually have to do the calculations to figure the time open (PWM?) for the injectors? I was reading the manual and couldn't understand if this is something you tell MS what size/how many injectors your running and it calculates it for you or you have to do the calculations and put it in yourself. I apologize for the ? but couldn't find it elsewhere and want to know what I'm getting into before I jump in.

MS calculate PW based on the setup criteria you give it (# and size of injectors, size of engine, etc) along with MAT (manifold air temp), MAP (manifold absolute pressure), and VE table. It's the VE table that you use to tune.

You might want to reread the section in the manual where it discusses the ideal gas law and how MS uses it to calculate the PW.

It's based on the brand/model of injectors. High-impedance injectors are generally a little slower to open fully. You can guess (ie use the times mentioned in the megamanual), and if it's wrong you can just tune it out. However, the more accurate you are with the opening time, the easier it is to tune. Especially at idle with large injectors.

I think I misunderstood your question and blozup got it right. Injector opening time has to be measured. You can tune around it if you're not close, but you may see strange patterns in the VE table. If you use a time that's too short, you'll see the VE rising as MAP goes down - which isn't how the physics actually works. That's a clue that you need to extend the opening time a little.

So you adjust your fuel off your WBO2 sensor right? I.E. if it's running lean you would have the injectors open for a longer period of time and vice versa if it's rich?