HybridZ

Bobby C.'s 72 240z build

i've been messing with zs now for about 10 years...since i got my first one at 17. story started with an 81zxt which i wrecked. i had a friend with a 73 with a blown motor...i picked up the shell for a few hundred dollars and swapped the motor in. i drove that for a few years as it would allow, and finally parked and started working on it in jan 06. i had been working on it off and on for the last 4 years, i think it drug out so long because there was so much wrong with it. it had been rear ended at some point and it rippled the back floor, stolen (while i had it) and then lit on fire, FD crushed the firewall prying the hood open. every part of the undercarrage had been used as a jack point, PO installed flares, but cut the inner and outer fender apart, it was cut too far and used some tar paper to fill the gap. sometimes i would just stare and it to form a plan of attack on some of the parts...i have some nice parts and i want the whole package to be equally as nice...and i didn't think that chassis would give it to me. i came across an ad on CL for 72 parts..i thought i'd snag some to repair my z. well it ends up the kid bought the car to drift..it had rust..and he couldn't weld...so i picked it up for $240. it had good glass, a nice interior, a hatch full of extra parts, and the rust was just in all the "normal" areas. i dropped all the parts off the 73 and scrapped the shell, minues a few parts id use for patches on the new z, and the roof and couple other little parts i gave to proxlamus. most of that time down was spent fixing parts that will easily swap into the 72.

the z is running a l28et, bored .080 over and forged

SDS6f with coil packs for fuel and spark

powdercoated underneath with GC coilover, sectioned tubes with MR2 front struts and TTT camber plates.

low pressure pump into a hand built surge tank and walbro feeding the engine. all SS braided line.