HybridZ

Broken Extended Wheel Studs

I've been using Ichiba extended wheel studs since 2007. To my surprise one broke as I was reinstalling my wheels after purchasing new tires. These were installed on the back of my 73 240Z and I was running 18x9.5 wheels. It wasn't even close to proper torque settings and now I'm concerned about the safety of the remaining studs.

Anyone else have wheel stud failures?

post-824-0-78088700-1494038369_thumb.jpg

post-824-0-14371700-1494038387_thumb.jpg

Do a visual inspection of the other studs, you can also feel if they are necked down from overtorque, the diameter will be smaller at the place where they are stretched. If you find some other ones stretched then you have your answer. Visually you may see more space between the stretched threads.

The one in the pic almost looks damaged, the break is really jagged. Have you had it in a shop where they took the wheels off for some reason? I've seen techs take a test drive with the lugs loose and it will cause damage.

what is your offset and are you running spacers would be the other questions?

Edited by Chris Duncan

That metallurgy looks very sandy and grainy. That's a sign of poor heat treating or bad materials  . Toss them all. Buy ARP studs. Broke some Moroso 1/2 studs years ago on my Autocross car. Was surprised at that, but again, poor heat treating. Grain structure was all sandy which is really bad. 

ARP or factory studs are all I trust now. Don't ever let anyone install wheels with an Air gun. Make them write it on the shop order!! Bust their chops if they even think of it. 

I agree the metallurgy looks bad, and will likely replace all my studs with ARP. I do all my own work using 5/8" spacers, and tighten by hand with a torque wrench at 90#. Is this too high?

Edited by Bartman

I agree the metallurgy looks bad, and will likely replace all my studs with ARP. I do all my own work using 5/8" spacers, and tighten by hand with a torque wrench at 90#. Is this too high?