HybridZ

New Turbo Question

Ratty280z

First of all sorry if im in the wrong area this is my first post. I usually just lurk to solve simple problems on my car.

But anyways.. Ive just picked up an l28et that i plan to put in my 280 in a week or two but the turbo is shot. I had planned to just get another stock rebuilt turbo but ive grown interested in a holset. (hx35w, hy35)

While im not new to engines i AM new to turbos as this is going to be my first turbo car. I was wondering if anything extra had to be done to add the holset in place of the stock turbo. If so ill have to stick with a stock one for now as i only have about 1000 to buy the turbo, tranny, and a few gauges to keep a check on everything.

Edited by Ratty280z

I'm planning on using a Holset HY35W myself. Perhaps the biggest issue is wastegate actuation (you have to rotate the compressor housing, which puts the stock actuators mounting point in the wrong spot), but you can remedy this in a number of ways.

Other issues would be oddball v-band sizes, which necessitate the use of the stock cast iron section coming off the exhaust side of the turbo. Welding steel to cast iron can be expensive and troublesome.

There are other small issues, but in my opinion, the low cost and high performance potential of these turbos make them worthwhile.

• 2 weeks later...

You cant use the stock holset wastegate. It cannot vent enough exhaust to prevent crazy high boost levels. So you need to add an external wastegate. That means modding the factory manifold or going aftermarket.