HybridZ

Datsun 280z with 5.3 LS: Having some electrical problems.

Hey guys, my car has been having a little bit of an electrical problem.  The car will not start unless it gets jumped.  I went out and bought a new battery, terminals, spark plugs, spark plug wires, and even an alternator.  The volts are constantly moving up and down, and every time I give it a little rev, it sounds like it wants to cut off or eventually does cut off.  

I'm pretty new to all of this, if someone could chime in and help that would be GREAT.  The only reason the car is running, is from a jump.  After I shut it off, it will not turn back on by itself.

Here's a video for a better understanding.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?x-yt-ts=1422579428&v=K2v9Hi6CsGQ&x-yt-cl=85114404

Looks like a bad alternator.  Even though you replaced it.  The need for a jump with a new battery suggests a short, killing the battery, then when you jump it, the load from charging the dead battery, or the short, or both, kills the alternator again.  I would first verify no short circuits.

If you don't know how to find a short you need to find some help.  Replacing more parts isn't going to get it done.  It may not be a short but that's one of the simplest electrical problems to diagnose.  It could just be something always on and killing your battery.  If that's the case, you'll get a spark when you reconnect the battery and everything is supposed to be off.

Edited by NewZed

If you don't know how to find a short you need to find some help.  Replacing more parts isn't going to get it done.  It may not be a short but that's one of the simplest electrical problems to diagnose.  It could just be something always on and killing your battery.  If that's the case, you'll get a spark when you reconnect the battery and everything is supposed to be off.

Yeah I got someone that's going to look at it sometime this week, and hopefully we can find that short or whatever it may be.  Thanks man