HybridZ

another confused swapper

Guest livewire23

Guest livewire23

Well, now that I've found my Z, I'm trying to decide on an engine. I was goin with the SBC because of the ease of the swap, but now I'm kinda leaning away from the SBC. I've got the JTR manual, and I feel comfortable with what this swap entails, but now Im thinking boost. I was going to go with an under 300hp 305 or 350. Two reasons, cheap and i've got very little experience controlling big engined cars.

But now I've seen all the RB series engines in Zs, and im impressed. First of all, I love the look of import engines. I guess I'm still a little biased. Nothing against the SBC, they're nice too. And I have more experience working on imports. Secondly, I want to experience boost. I've driven an RS, I've ridden in a Z28, I've ridden in a SpecV SE-R, and I think I want to try some boost.

So, after some extensive use of the search function here, I've been drawn to the 2JZ engines. Basically because folks say their cheaper. I'm still aiming for under 300hp, and I would like a nice balance between handling and power. My honda has nice handling, but is not as powerful as I would like.

So, should I go with a SBC JTR style, and just leave it stock, go with a RB25 and a small turbo, or a 2JZ and a small turbo? Or should I attempt to build my dream? A AWD RB25 280z 2thumbs.gif pros/cons of each?

Guest Anonymous

cool glad to see you actually taking the time to think it out. both the supra and rb motors produce around 320 howsuwapowa. and both are going to need some modifications to fit in the z. i say if you got the tools (most important a welding machine), go with the supra motor. your going to have to make custom mounts, and youll pay way less than getting your hands on an rb in the states.

but if your looking for ease, and bang for your buck go with the v8, or maybe go with an l28..

franklinz

Guest livewire23