HybridZ

Drifting video

jhaag

I've been gone for a week so if this has already been posted, my apologies. This drifting video is interesting and drifting, in general, is THE hot topic in the sports/performance magazines of late. I'm glad the people in the video aren't doing these maneuvers on public roads. While drifting isn't the fast way around a track, I'm impressed by the car control. I recently attended my first autocross as a spectator and was fortunate enough to get a ride in a vehicle with slicks. As a newbie, I felt varying amounts of off-the-scale excitement combined with some pure terror. :D Yikes! I want to do this again!

Here is the link to the video. I had to copy and paste the address into my browser in order to view it.

http://www.prospectsolutions.com/~alltrac/imports_drift.wmv

John

I probably am going to sound like the old fart that I am, but, I thought drifting was using power to go sideways under control. Sprint cars drift corners, but not because the driver gets going like hell and then throws the car into it just to be sideways. Speedway motorcycles are crossed up all the way around , but that is because they are way overpowered. So it seems to me that since these guys are coming out of the turns sideways instead of pointing down the straight, they aren't drifting, they are skidding. Somebody please explain where my thinking is flawed. (Just on this subject, there isn't enough room on the net to completely explain my flawed mental processes :-D )

It's still the same thing, just the sport isn't about your time round the track, you are judged for your skill at drifting. My dad used to race sprint cars, and he said the same thing 'I can do that. Hell, I couldn't help but drift, what's so special about some dork in a miata who is sideways way too long?' It's just the new fad. Since there's no real contest, only a judging panels opinion, I don't think it will last. Real competition (like, I dunno, racing?) will outlast drifting.