HybridZ

fiberglass ?

CableSrv

Ok I'm new to fiberglass and the whole mold stuff and I've been reading alot on fiberglast.com about the materials and how-to's and would like to tackle a center console and dash replacement with fiberglass.

Here is my question for those who have done fiberglass work before. Obviously I'd be using epoxy resin with a 2 hour hardner since these parts are a bit larger and would require more brush and lay time. My problem is, i'm not sure HOW much resin is enough?

I'd hate to buy the 500 gallon drum when I doubt i'll really need that much.

I plan to reprep the original dash and center console to uber smooth surface then make a plug of it and apply mold release agent then create a blown fiberglass mold, at this point I could eventually make multible dashes as needed if other asked.

Ideas and comments and books, videos, websites ? are appreciated.

I think epoxy resin would be al little over kill and expensive for a dash. Just your basic styrene based polyester resin will do. You know… the green stuff. I used a gallon to do my hood and had lots left over. You could probably get by with a couple of quarts. Keep in mind that this product does have a shelf life of about a year if kept at 70 F. Boat shops might be rare in parts of Texas, so you could try a Vette shop and find out where he gets his supplies from.

I apreciate your interest in making dashes but you will find several challenges in making this part; the shape is very difficult to make in a one piece mold.

I will tell you that making a dash very difficult even for an experienced fiberglass professional, from personal experience.

We already manufacture a fiberglass dash...If you want one be sure to contact PDK Fabrication: http://www.pdkfabrication.com

932Fiberglass_dash_photo.jpg

I thought you guys stopped that project because there wasn't enough ppl wanting to do a run ?

If you are doing them then hell yea i'll buy a dash from you EVENTUALLY!!